Urban Educator in the City!

A Classroom Love Supreme……

Posted on: August 3, 2009

One of the things that I like to do to establish  a relaxing environment in my classroom is to have light jazz or classical music playing when students first come into classroom. Students know to enter class, turn in homework to Homework Monitor and  immedicatedly start on Bellwork, Journal Time, Do Now or Accelerated Math . The music relaxes them and it definitely relaxes me… Sometimes when students are coming to school from a stressful home, walking through a stressful neighborhood or having a fight with BFF right before they enter your classroom, they need a minute to transition from that environment to the classroom environment.

Try it! You might like it!

Students will beg you to play R&B and/or Hip Hop instead. DON”T DO IT! Unless of course you want your class to turn into an Americn Idol competition or Class Sing-a- Long!

 

Enjoy!

Data is My Friend. Data is my Friend.

  • 3,862 hits

What Did You Miss?

What Did YOU Say????

mzeducator on Go and hug your “Michael…
Robin on Go and hug your “Michael…
Miss Teacha on

What Did I Say?

